BAM Award Winners: Best Original Screenplay

So here you have the dreamer category; those who want to bring an entirely new conception to the big screen. It is not inherent that the winner must present the most unique concept unleashed on the cinematic landscape but just the fact that something not pre-sold is being done is enough and when that film is great it’s even better. Here are the winners for Best Original Screenplay:

2020 Jeffrey Roda 18 to Party

2019 Jordan Peele Us

2018 Bo Burnham Eighth Grade

2017 Jordan Peel Get Out

2016 Nikias Chryssos Der Bunker


2015 Krampus Todd Casey, Michael Dougherty and Zach Shields


2014 Locke Stephen Knight

Locke (2013, A24 Films)

2013 Blue Jasmine Woody Allen

Blue Jasmine (2013, Sony Pictures Classics)

2012 In the Family Patrick Wang

In the Family (2011, In the Family)

2011 Super 8 J.J. Abrams

2010 Inception Christopher Nolan

2009 Inglourious Basterds Quentin Tarantino


2008 Son of Rambow Garth Jennings

2007 Hot Fuzz Simon Pegg and Edgar Wright

2006 Little Miss Sunshine Michael Arndt

2005 Saraband Ingmar Bergman

2004 Mean Creek Jacob Aaron Estes

Mean Creek (2004, Paramount Classics)

2003 Love Actually Richard Curtis

Love Actually (2003, Universal)

2002 Star Wars: Episode II: Attack of the Clones George Lucas and Jonathan Hales


2001 Spy Kids Robert Rodriguez

Spy Kids (2001, Troublemaker Studios)

2000 Bowfinger Steve Martin

1999 Arlington Road Ehren Kruger

1998 Central Station (Central do Brasil) Marcos Bernstein, João Emanuel Carneiro and Walter Salles

Central Station (1998, Sony Pictures Classics)

1997 Highjacking Hollywood Neil Mandt and Jim Rossow

1996 Everyone Says I Love You Woody Allen